From Dad-to-Be!


My husband, in a fit of procrastination having to do with finals for his MBA program, started a blog.
Here is what he has to say about his impending fatherhood (I love it):

“Studying is driving me crazy. I’ll read for 5 minutes then find something (ANYTHING) else to do for 30 … I know I can do this, I just really don’t want to right now. I know … I’m a big baby, right? My mom suggested I try to muster the excitement I was feeling when I first started this program (UT Executive MBA) and it made me think back to how excited I really was back then. It was a relatively short year-and-3-months ago but so much has happened since then it seems like an eternity.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s been a phenomenal experience so far and I wouldn’t change it even if I could. But my life is completely different these days, and it’s really all because of one thing and one thing only: I’m about 80 days away (give or take a few) from being a first-time father and it’s the most exciting thing that’s ever happened to me. I find myself lost in thought about all sorts of things related to parenting, most are pleasant but some are so overwhelming that the weight of the responsibility makes me forget to breathe for a few seconds. There’s nothing like it in the world … and I know this is only the beginning.”

2 thoughts on “From Dad-to-Be!

  1. My husband is in graduate school too. He’ll have three months left of school, give or take a couple of weeks, when our baby is born. So there is a whole of lot of the same thing going on over here in our house.

  2. I love it! I’ll have to have Damon read this. We as women have so many resources for connecting and bonding and talking to like-minds during this transition and he really doesn’t. We need to do our couples night out before these babies pop out!xoxo,Hannah

Leave a Reply

