Due Date! Yipppeeee!

(notice the unrealistically large bladder)

Well there was a time when I was afraid I would never see this day. That we would have preterm labor. I know I am not the only one who had that fear.
There was a time when I was afraid I would not be able to get pregnant, too. And when I was afraid I would not be able to hold this pregnancy. And when I was afraid I would not have the strength to give birth. Again, I know I was not alone in this fear. So I am not going to add to that list the fear that I will not start labor on my own and have to be induced. Though again I know I would not be alone in that fear.

But what is so great is that right now, as I vigilantly monitor every little gas bubble and moment of nausea for the beginning of labor, I am not alone now either! There are so many people thinking of us and not only us but the other women who are about to be mamas at the same time I am. Thanks so much for all the love!!!!!!!!!!

We made a little more progress today and had a couple of good strong contractions. I took a long walk, and am eating spicy foods and “slippery” foods (a name for certain types of labor helpful foods in the Chinese Medicine tradition. Eggplant, flax, oats, sesame are all part of that list. I had oatmeal for breakfast and curried eggplant for dinner last night and for lunch today!).
we are ON IT. Oh, chili for dinner tonight. As my Bradley teacher puts it, we eat these labor stimulating foods because really they stimulate the colon and other organs to contract and then the uterus contracts by “peer pressure”.

Had my midwife visit last night. It went great. He was still LOA (great position to birth from) and his head is extremely low. Pretty cool. This little dude is ready.
I think I should take the baby counter down because it will start counting back upwards and I don’t think I want the reminder…just in case. We reached February 12 and that makes me so happy. I have now had the experience of carrying a baby to term.

One thought on “Due Date! Yipppeeee!

Leave a Reply

