WALKING!!!!

Well, we’ve been offline and out of commission for a bit. We’ve been hit hard by a virus, and all of us got sick. But we’re back and better than ever!
New and Improved Sufyan 7.5! He walks!
He is 7.5 months old today, and we got this video of him using the wagon walker we just got him (to hopefully save our backs!) I have to admit, I am so proud of him.
http://www.youtube.com/get_player
Being a mom to a sick baby is really hard. First of all, it’s heartbreaking. It’s also scary. Sufyan had an upper respiratory infection that may have been croup. That means that he was congested, coughing, and has a little fluid behind one ear drum. The coughing is what I find scary. That sound, and the “stridor” when he gasps between coughs, makes me feel so helpless. And I had double the reason I had before not to sleep. He coughs, and I am on high alert instantly–awake, vigilant, nervous, mentally noting the time and tenor of the cough, the length of his stridor, and feeling his forehead for fever (which he never had), and occasionally having to get us up out of bed to vacuum out his nose. When he wakes up this way, he immediately wants to nurse to sooth himself. SO, for a few days, I got about 2 hours of sleep total. And I got sick of course, too. And then Faris got sick. It’s been hard. Fortunately we have finally found a great pediatrician (2 actually, at the same practice). When I took Sufyan to Dr. W, the Dr actually hugged Sufyan and the 2 of them had a little conversation about the stethoscope that I wasn’t even involved in. It was so cute.

Now my beloved dog, Fiver, is at the emergency hospital for the weekend.

She is sick. We don’t know with what yet, though 2 of the 3 possibilities her vet mentioned are illnesses that she will likely be able to recover from. Tired and sad, I dropped her off at the vet this morning. They would not let me stay with her. I broke down and cried right there at the sign in desk. I feel so guilty about how much of my attention, attention that used to be hers, is now Sufyan’s. Of course I know that is how it should be, but even so. As he grows bright and strong, she is fading from us and growing smaller. She must feel quite alone at times, because she is also quite deaf now and cannot hear me when I talk to her or tell her what a good girl she is. She must think we don’t say anything anymore.

I know how scared of the vet she is, and I saw she was trembling. She’s 12 1/2 yrs old, and she was looking into my eyes with a big question mark about what exactly was going on. And I had to just leave her there. I have only had to do that one other time in her life. Luckily the vet tech who came to lead her back to the cages was very kind. We will know more Monday, after the weekend of IV fluids and observation.

5 thoughts on “WALKING!!!!

  1. Wow! Congrats Sufyan! Hope you guys feel better. Poor Fiver. I know how you feel — I feel so guilty as though I’m neglecting my pups now that all my attention goes to Sam. It’s tough. You’re doing great.

  2. WOW, WOW, WOW!!! AMAZING, Truly! We got crawling today but that looks like quite small potatoes in comparison to Sufyan who looks ready to take off running! SO great! About Fiver (sp?) my heart goes out to you and the little pup. As a lover of dogs (my 2 have been to the ER too recently) I know how hard it is and that yes, our dogs become less of a focus due to baby. You are a wonderful parent to both dogs and babies and they both know it. I am thinking of you.

  3. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
    sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog riter but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for beginner boog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

