A better day

Today was Laila’s first day with no diaper going out of the house!!! She did great and we had no oopsies at all. In fact she didn’t use one single diaper today. Not one! Go Laila Go—in the potty!

Sufyan in flight

laila in flight (“watch dis JUMP mama!”)

(and when she runs she says, “Watch dis EXTRA fast!”)
Sometimes I wonder if I am the only person in the West Bank listening to whatever music I am listening to. Today it’s Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys. But more often it’s Iron & Wine. However, if I ever get a craving to listen to 80s music or early 90s I know there is NO WAY I am the only person listening to that. In the car 2 nights ago I heard Karma Chameleon and My Name Is Luca in the same errand! LOVE it.
My blog post called “Burn Out”, more of a transmission from the edge than an update, prompted some private emails from other mothers and friends. In those emails was the love and support I needed. And some good advice. Thank you all so much.
The heft of this advice was to take better care of myself in order to care for my children and give myself a break. Good ideas that we moms have trouble implementing. But so crucial.
One piece of advice was quite profound:

Burn The List.
Lose the list of difficulties I’ve/we’ve faced this last year. Abandon the burden of how hard things have been. Write it down one last time and BURN IT.
Stop craving compensation for all that has gone “wrong” and unburden myself of the anger, the pain, the guilt and sadness that I am carrying.
What a fantastic idea.
My life has many more moments for “hallelujah” than it does “aw, crap”. I have so much to be thankful for and if I could let go of The List I would surely be more free to enjoy these things.
Like my little girl.

And this awesome ice cream truck that Laila LOVES. The most menacing ice cream I’ve ever seen, and it was playing “O Come All Ye Faithful” and “We Wish You A Merry Christmas”.

Hot afternoons of summer = necessarily creative indoor play. Here are some of our favorites:

Bubbles and water and kitchen things like measuring cups and spoons

An open suitcase became a bed, a house, a car, a bus, a hide-away…

A place to read books…

And of course there’s always simple yoga poses like this to pass the time.

They never get tired of mixing things together with water. Here it’s flour and water.
And here they are mixing beans, lentils, flour and water.
We walk in the wadi when we get out early enough:
Baby olives ripening. Olive trees are EVERYwhere here and they are so beautiful. Very sturdy, ancient looking trees.

Under the olive tree.

another JUMP!

“I’m a lidda’ girl” she says.

“It contains the basic needed items of food…”

I made an attempt to remedy my constant craving for thick, moist loaves of German bread. If there was ever a time for comfort food, this is surely it.
My first ever loaf of real bread –Bauernbrot.
2 thoughts on “A better day

  1. That bread looks awesome! Could the kids be any cuter? The two of them curled up in the suitcase reading is so sweet. You are doing an awesome job of thinking of creative things to do indoors. I have to say, we have been doing a lot more TV time than I would generally allow.That ice cream truck is the stuff of my nightmares. It brings up my fear of clowns. Maybe it's the colors? Add in the music selection and that is seriously creepy!

Leave a Reply

