I salute you, fellow struggling yogis.

To all you yoga teachers and especially yoga mamas out there, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever practiced with a cup of coffee in hand, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever taken a snack break during practice or put a plate on the couch beside you, I salute you!

To all of you who have ever “practiced” with a toddler riding on your back, I salute you.

To all who have ever skipped savasana because you don’t have time (need to make dinner, need to get dressed, need to shower) I salute you.

To all of you who have done ONLY savasana, I salute you!

To anyone who has ever planned to go to sleep in savasana, get some thinking done in meditation, or called your 3 deep breaths “pranayama practice” I salute you!

To all of you who practiced to punk rock, hip hop, or an audio book instead of “yoga music”, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever checked your email during practice, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever read a book while practicing, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever done your mantra practice in the car, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever taught your students to “let go of the ego” but find yourself striving to get your foot over your head, I salute you.

To all of you who have gotten bored with your practice and added a little “yoga dance”, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever felt inspired to practice for tighter triceps a deeper connection, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever been discouraged because you look in a mirror while practicing, I salute you.

To all who have done a forward bend only to find yourself pinching your fat rolls and scratching your months-old pedicure off, I salute you.

To all of you who have ever cried while practicing, laughed while practicing, taken a phone call while practicing, let your kids pretend you are a horsey while practicing, listened to the news while practicing, done the dishes while practicing, I salute you!

I salute you, all of us, for trying.Β  I salute us all for staying with it.Β  I salute us all for our imperfections, our human nature, our mother nature, our attempts to walk the path of yoga and wrestle with our over-full minds and our over-full lives.

8 thoughts on “I salute you, fellow struggling yogis.

  1. Lovely new layout, Ravyn!

    And wonderful post! My “practice” is definitely not what I conceived it to be when I was in teacher training. It is much less asana and on-the-mat than I thought (not necessarily a bad thing, just a surprise) and much more… creative?… than it was designed in my head to be. πŸ™‚ Right now my practice includes a lot of breath work while walking/bouncing/jostling/burping/nursing my 3 week old, and a lot of tuning into my body and thoughts during jealous tantrums by my 2 year old. πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah-
    Congrats mama! Ooooh those jealousy issues. I know how they feel. Not easy. I’m so happy to hear from you! How’s the new little one??? How are you adjusting? I’m so curious.

Leave a Reply

