7×7 = love

Well, who doesn’t like a surprise?

I got a sweet surprise from 2 fellow bloggers:  the 7×7 Blog Award!

This award is from the minds behind shoesonthewrongfeet.com and thebookofalice.com.

(photo cred: here)

Getting one of these awards from another blogger feels like getting a Valentine’s day card in elementary school.  You hope you will get one, but you keep telling yourself you don’t care about the stupid paper hearts anyway (wore your cutest outfit just in case).

So, thanks guys!  I heart you, too!  Shoes is a blog that is often quite funny, and sometimes so bravely human she raises the bar for the rest of us.  Alice is a blog devoted to the hilarious and eyebrow-raising things a child says as she navigates the world.  Always a good laugh, and always makes me think I should do more of that kind of recording.

For this award, I get to tell you 7 things about me you don’t already know.  And you know I love to talk about myself.  I blog, after all.

So here goes…

7 things that you don’t know:

1.  What I wore to my first boy-girl “dance”, age 11 or 12:  A royal blue sleeveless sweater over a white button-down shirt with a collar.  A loose, floral skirt that went below the knee.  White tights.  A pair of pale, banana yellow leather flats and a metallic blue belt around the sweater at my waist.  I may or may not have still had a “tail” haircut.  Awwww yeah.  I knew I had not achieved Debbie-Gibson-hotness because my mom was smiling and snapping pictures.  But then Jason Beam asked me to dance so it was totally worth it.  It was the belt, I’m sure.

2.  My name is:  Ravyn, my name, is not a reference to a bird or Poe.  It comes from a dream I had.

3.  My secret past:  I was the “resident” Janet in RHPS for a year.   I took it seriously because I was 14 and it was so much fun.  And I was 14.  The night my parents showed up, I skipped my…ah…costume changes.

"malakins" in Ramallah

4.  My Bowie obsession:  I memorized the David Bowie movie Labyrinth.  I memorized it.  The whole movie.  Did I mention I love David Bowie?

more malakins, Ramallah. 80s styling.

foil wrap disco "malakins"

5.  May my kids never do THIS:  I am still haunted by what could have happened on this night:  One night, some close friends and I climbed out under the New River Gorge Bridge on a catwalk intended for emergencies and repairs, and then climbed up the external maintenance ladder to sit in the expansion joints of the bridge and listen to passing semis.  Expansion joints are shaped like triangles, by the way!  I did this at night, with a couple of memorable friends.  In case you don’t know (and why would you?) this bridge is 876 feet high.  As in the ground, the surface of the river, is nearly a thousand feet below.  Chills just thinking about it.

New River Bridge. This is also the river I refer to below.

6.  Fun fail:  I was a white water rafting guide for a few seasons.  I was terrible at it, owing largely to my extreme fear of deep water.  But I did get to live in a tent on the rim of the New River Gorge, in foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It was incredible.

7.  Not so fun fail:  I have 3 large tattoos.  Well, maybe you knew that.  But what you might not know is that a) I admit that I regret one of them and b) I now have the wisdom to know that what I felt at 17 did not, in fact, last as long as the tattoo that the feeling inspired.  Who knew?  Oh, right.  Everyone.  Bah.

that's a baby carrier. and that's a dragon.

And now for the links to 7 other blogs you might like to peruse:

Misadventures in Motherhood:  this post is hilarious.  you will see her get her brows waxed, hair dyed, shed her SAHM pajamas in favor of a bridesmaid dress…and then she will puke and miss the wedding.  She laughs throughout it all.  I love it.

The Baby Sucks:  I could not stop laughing at this pee post.  I have lived this scenario, but she makes it way more hilarious.  This mom illustrates (as in she draws) the hilarious moments of motherhood, and she pulls no punches.  So worth the read.

Revolution from Home:  this blogger is living proof that one person can make a difference.  She has heart and the energy to do something with it.

The Mommyhood:  whenever I read her blog, I remember what it was like to be a mom in the states (for better and for worse).  But even here in Palestine, without access to the products that I remember from my former life, I like her ideas about how to make things fun!  Check out this post on bath time creativity.  We have food coloring, we have soap…we can do this sans product.  Her blog is full of great tips.

First Time Mom Over Forty:  I’ve been in love with her fierce sense of self and her ability to see the divine in everything since I met this woman years ago.  And then she became a mom and started this blog…she doesn’t update nearly as much as her talent makes me crave but seriously who has time?  She’s a dynamite writer.

Psychodynamom:  Because she is hilarious and a fantastic writer. And she has adopted two children and talks openly about the joys and heartache of going that route to be a parent.  Mostly the joys.  With a lot of hilarity.

The Fresh Loaf:  Yes, I know the title takes you back to 11th grade.  BUT this is a fantastic site for all things bread from novice baking to creative genius baking.  I highly recommend checking this blog out if you have ever considered trying to bake bread.  Me?  I’ve been trying for about a year now.  Here is this week’s brag loaf: (made, of course, with the help of my two little baking assistants)

Braided Lemon Bread 2nd attempt (filled with homemade lemon curd and cream cheese). Recipe at Smitten Kitchen.

braided lemon bread 1st attempt

cinnamon roll bread. This first attempt didn't work well, but tasted great. the 4 subsequent loaves were great, though. Recipe at Eat Me Delicious

Happy reading, happy parenting (or not), and happy bread baking (or at least dreaming of it)

Thanks again, Shoes and Alice!

7 thoughts on “7×7 = love

  1. For the record, I think the dragon looks awesome, especially with the baby carrier and your big smile! You should show it off more often.

    Thanks for sharing the rest. What fun to learn more about you. It convinces me more and more that we would have often gone out for conversation at cafes if we ever had the honor of living in the same part of the world at the same time 🙂 I guess we’ll have to settle for online wine late at night when the kids are asleep.

  2. YOU are the girl with the dragon tattoo! Okay, I haven’t read that book yet, so hopefully I’m not comparing you to someone I wouldn’t if I had actually read it. Anyway, the things you learn about people – that bridge story was awesome!

    Interesting how you look back at things you think were a good idea and scratch your head. For me it was, “Mom, Dad, I’m moving to Bangkok!”

    I asked my mom recently why they let me go, and she said, “Well, we couldn’t really stop you.” I was twenty two and it seemed like a good idea at the time. Fortunately (like your bridge experience) everything worked out, and I am who I am for having had the experience. But when I think of what COULD have happened. Ei-yi-yi.

    Also, so weird that you bring up the Labyrinth. I just mentioned it to my husband last night. And a few months ago I watched it again. LOVE that movie.

    Okay, so what are your other two tattoos?
    Heather
    PS – Thanks for the shout out and congrats on your award!

  3. I have rafted beneath the New River bridge. I gotta say you’ve got guts. I’ve always thought the people that bungee jump from it are crazy, but it sounds like you were up there without any type of safety rope. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

