snow love

I grew up in Michigan with winters that often mounded street corners with snow, and the sound of snow plows in the morning meant possibly that school was closed.  I remember so clearly how warm snow is when you build a little snow hovel and lay down in it in your snow suit.  I love snow days.  I wish our current state got more of them, but when they do come we live it up.

IMG_0588

snowy sunrise on our street

IMG_0586

Laila is truly an experience seeker, a sensation seeker. She demands to go out and feel the snow in her bare feet at 7am whenever we have snow (or rain for that matter, or even frost).

IMG_0593

making big plans, diagramming a path for sleds in our yard…

Sledding at a nearby playground turned ski slope!

IMG_0606 IMG_0610 IMG_0608  IMG_0615

I only had my iphone with me the evening I went to work and saw this.  I am trying to capture the steel grey of the frozen drainage pond.  The color was very quiet, like the rest of the air around me.  I could hear a faint cracking sound as things froze in the sudden cold snap.

IMG_0583

and when I left work, the snow was coming down hard.  I drove under 20mph the entire way home.

IMG_0578

and I still love snow days.

6 thoughts on “snow love

  1. Such happy snow angels – I love the black and white photos in the snow. We haven’t had a snow day here yet, just a 2 hour late start due to snow that only hung around for a few hours. But like you, we made the most of that snow time.

  2. We have been snow-covered here in West-Central Michigan since Thanksgiving. It surely creates a slower pace of life, which I like. Come March I may be getting a little twitchey about the cold, though.

  3. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your site.
    It appears as though some of the written text in your
    posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This may be
    a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

